How to read myth… (response)

This article was intriguing to me. I agreed with the author when he said: “By observing a number of recurrent themes in all myths, they concluded that the myths must have descended from a small handful of original ancestor myths.” This makes a lot of sense to me because I feel that mankind has a very strong trickle down effect when it comes to our customs, traditions and much of our lives. We have evolved into what we are today. So it makes sense to me that our stories have done so as well. I also think it’s interesting that this fits with the approach of the Grimm brothers. Most stories around the world have the same common themes, regardless of where they come from or how long they’ve been around

The picture that says: “I guess darkness serves a purpose: to show us that there is redemption through chaos. I believe in that I think that’s the basis of GREEK MYTHOLOGY.”  To me, this relates to when the author of the article said: “Other common themes include the world being destroyed by a great flood and the death and resurrection of a divine character to explain the changing seasons and the return of life to the land each spring.” The myths show the darkness of death and then the redemption of the ressurection of a new character.

Leave a comment